Doctors Don’t Know

A couple months ago, I woke up in the middle of the night feeling like I needed to throw up. As I made my way to the bathroom, I began to feel dizzy – more like drunk, even though I’d had no alcohol or medication. I returned to the bedroom and began to feel intense pain just above my ribcage – as if someone had punched me deep into my chest. The pain got worse and I just felt like my whole body wasn’t right. My husband took me to the ER where they quickly hooked me up to wires and oxygen. Blood work showed slightly elevated troponin levels. This is the enzyme that suggests a recent heart attack. A couple of different meds and the pain level dropped some. Nothing on the EKG was significant (flipped T waves – no one can explain it, but apparently that isn’t a big deal). 2 hrs later, a re-check of the troponin showed normal levels. They admitted me anyway.

After multiple EKGs, tons of bloodwork, an echocardiogram, and a stress test – I was released 2 days later with no known diagnosis. They don’t think it was a heart attack – but they sent me home on aspirin (just in case). Could be acid reflux, so they sent me home with a script for that too. Possible muscle spasm…so they recommended continuing the pain management track I was already on. Bottom line – they just don’t know. How is it possible that doctors with all their education and scientific understanding “just don’t know”?

The more I learn about the human body, the more I realize what in incredibly complex creation we are and how much we really don’t know about how it works. There are parts of our body that are scientifically inexplainable. For instance, we know that eyelids develop in the womb at about the 2nd month. They fuse together to make one seamless layer of skin. In the 5th month, the skin “mysteriously separates” to create the upper and lower eyelids. No one knows why…or even how.

Which brings me to my point…aside from our Creator – no one knows your body better than you. You know what’s normal. And you know when something isn’t right. I have let modern medicine convince me that I’m over-reacting to all of the crazy symptoms I’ve been experiencing. I think mostly because I assumed that if they don’t have an explanation, then it must not be a big deal. So I get up and do my best to get through the day and try to overcome the pain, the numbness, the confusion, etc. But the reality is that I’m not really getting through the day at all. Many days, I can barely even sit up before I have to lie back down to spend the majority of the day flat on my back. That’s not normal. I am convinced that there is an explanation and I will not give up the fight to find answers.

Some of the explanation I’ve been given:

•  Nerve damage
•  Fibromyalgia
•  Degenerative Disc Disease
•  Depression
•  Low pain tolerance
•  Poor sleep patterns
•  “If you imagine yourself feeling better, you will”
•  Possibly lupus or MS
•  Poor posture
•  Not enough exercise
•  Addicted to narcotics (ha ha ha!)
•  And my personal favorite (you’re gonna love this one) – go to Macy’s and get a proper bra fitting

While some of the suggestions are not completely unreasonable, we are convinced it’s Lyme Disease. So much so that our approach, as my husband puts it, is that “they need to prove to us that it’s not”.

If you’re not familiar with Lyme, I want to encourage you to learn more. So I will be posting about what different doctors do, including LLDs, and why there isn’t a better understanding of Lyme among the medical community.

Thanks for sharing our journey with us.

In His Grip

4 thoughts on “Doctors Don’t Know

  1. I have a wonderful friend, sister in my church, that was diagnosed with lyme disease. She was a vibrant, hardworking, farm girl, who hoisted bales of hay and roped cattle, in her 60’s. She became frail, shaky, disorganized in thought after contracting lyme disease. She tried many different therapies and drugs and just recently started on another medication. She is not flinging bales of hay, but is stronger and more focused and confident about her years ahead. If you would like me to put you in contact with her, please PM your phone number and I will. May God bless you on your journey for answers.

    Like

    • Thanks Gloria. I would very much like to talk with her and hear her story! I know several women with Lyme and have been studying everything I can – especially on the ILADS website…but it really helps to hear the real deal, day in the life stories. I’ll message you!

      Like

  2. Really your bra doesn’t fit right!!!! They went to medical school and that is the best they can come up with. That one was probably a very expensive visit to come up with that little gem of wisdom! I am with you that no one besides the Creator knows our bodies better than we do. Just follow your instincts. Love ya girlfriend

    Like

Leave a Reply

