40 Years

People in the bible talk about 40 years as if they’ve forgotten how long a day can be

As we were reading Joshua this morning and discussing the children wandering thru the desert, I was struck with a new pain that completely stopped me from functioning. The first thing I realized was that the upper right quadrant of my head felt like it was separated out, then I immediately felt like a large butcher knife sliced into the top of my skull. The sharpness of the pain disappeared quickly but the intensity of the pressure took a few moments to slowly dissipate.

It’s in these moments that I think about the quote above and ponder the reality of daily life the Israelites bore. 40 years is a long time to wait for anything…add their 5 years of battle before they were finally able to settle down into their own pieces of land and well, that’s my lifetime. I read about Gods grace for them and I criticize them for complaining…all along complaining myself about the trials God is allowing in my life.

God is still God. God is still good. To Him be the glory.

Leave a Reply

