Strength, Peace, Love and Joy

I have had some rough days (and especially nights) lately with intense pain throughout my entire body and muscle weakness that has made it difficult to walk at times. The last 2 days have been “not horrible”, which is a huge blessing but I tend to push through what pain I do have to get things done – simply because I can. I am pretty sure that these days will come to a quick end and I will once again be bound by pain to my bed in hope of comfort.

This is the life we live now. It wasn’t long ago that I looked at my husband and pronounced “life has changed”. We are becoming accustomed to the new normal, but it’s so hard sometimes not to dwell on the dreams we once sought after. We don’t know what the future holds and our hope now is simply for a few days (or moments even) that I am not in complete and utter pain. And I sometimes find myself praying to God that He fix it. Just fix it – so I can get back to MY plans for life. But as I pray, I am reminded that God never promised us a pain free life. He never promised easy. He doesn’t even promise comfort; I tried to find it, He tells us instead to comfort each other – which is an interesting concept and a topic for another day!

God does, however, promise peace, strength, love and joy. But He tells us to do something first.

Wait on Him. Wait – look eagerly for – expect. Expect what? Expect strength. Expect peace.
Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD. Psalm 27:14
The LORD will give strength unto his people; the LORD will bless his people with peace. Psalm 29:11

Pray and be thankful.
Be careful* for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus Philippians 4:6-7   * Careful: anxious, troubled with cares

Love each other.
If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you. John 15:10-12

I can’t tell you how many times throughout the day self-pity overcomes me and I cry out to God asking why He isn’t strengthening my heart. I get so disappointed that He doesn’t just hand me the keys to peace.

If I would only expect His strength, He will give it. If I will just pray thankfully, He will give peace. If I would only just put my life, my worries, my fears aside to love others, I will abide in His love and joy. It’s so simple – so why do I make it so hard?

Maybe it’s because I don’t want to be sick. Maybe it’s because I don’t want to go through this journey. Maybe I’m just a selfish, sinful woman who needs a savior every day.

God is still God. God is still good. To Him be the glory.

Leave a Reply

