Angels and Herxing

“To them it was revealed that, not to themselves, but to us they were ministering the things which now have been reported to you through those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven—things which angels desire to look into.” 1 Peter 1:12

Angels are among us. I feel their presence, even when I don’t fully understand what it is. I usually picture them watching over me as if they are protecting me. I imagine they are worshiping with us, singing more beautifully than anyone on earth.

So when I read that they “desire to look into” the ministering of things being preached on earth, I’m a little taken aback.

“Desire” in the greek (epithymeo) is the same word as covet – to long for.
“Look into” (parakypto) means to stoop down to look into something, or metaphorically, to carefully look into, inspect curiously or become acquainted with something.

But Peter arose and ran to the tomb; and stooping down, he saw the linen cloths lying by themselves; and he departed, marveling to himself at what had happened. Luke 24:12

It seems strange to me that angels would desire to look into anything here on earth. But they do. And their thirst to quench that desire is never satisfied – because they can never experience the things we do.

I’m no angel – but lately I have been anticipating (hoping for) a response to antibiotics. It’s called a Jarisch-Herxheimer reaction (Herx). I have been studying and researching and doing everything I can to try to understand it – stooping down to look into it. I have scoured the internet looking for articles on what it is from a scientific, biological sense. But I also have had an intense desire to know how it feels to the person experiencing it. I’ve searched for stories and watched videos of people who have gone thru it; I’ve reached out to friends who have been thru it and asked them to tell me what its like. I stooped down with a desire to become acquainted with it because I wanted to know what was coming – if it were to come at all. And guess what – I still didn’t fully understand it, until I experienced it.

Lyme disease bacteria are called spirochetes (spiro-keets). Their unique spiral shape allows then to drill their way into and through body tissues, cause a whole host of symptoms all over the body.

As antibiotics begin to kill the spirochetes, they start to die off, which can initially provide some relief. However, as they die, they release an enormous load of toxins all throughout the body, resulting in pain and sickness.

I felt relief almost immediately. So much so that I was able to get out of bed, out of the house and do some shopping that day. For me – that was huge – and wonderful!  Day 2 was even better. Day 3 was still good, but I began to feel a little queasy and pain slowly crept throughout my body at very low levels…trust me, I was still very excited to get out of bed and function, but started to wonder – is this it? Is this a herx?

Day 4 was miserable – which is a telltale sign that healing is beginning. I woke with a headache, stiff neck and a lot of nausea. One of the weird symptoms I experience is a pain that pulses throughout my body like an electrical current. It’s a very strange and uncomfortable sensation…it doesn’t usually last long, but on this particular day – it came and went 10 times an hour at least.

That night, I could not sleep. I was awake until 4am. When I finally did fall asleep, I woke up 5 times in the first 10 minutes from hellish nightmares – the type where you aren’t sure if you’re really asleep. When I would close my eyes, I could see a dark shape standing over me, almost holding me down. I desperately wanted to wake up and fight back, but I couldn’t. I felt like I was drugged and unable to move. It was a terrifying experience. I would try to make myself wake and when I finally did, I didn’t want to go back to sleep.

Day 5 was completely filled with severe pain and nausea – all day. Pain meds, muscle relaxers, pepto. Finally, late in the afternoon, it began to subside enough for me to be able to sit up and eat.

Day 6 (today) is better. All the same symptoms – just less intense. Through this herx, my first, I have a renewed hope and I feel greatly encouraged, even if I am miserably sick.

God is still God. God is still good. To Him be the glory.

One thought on “Angels and Herxing

Leave a Reply

