I have Lyme Disease

Yep, that’s right – I can now officially say it.  After 8 years of being sick, and knowing for the last few months that I do have it, I finally have a document that has the words “POSITIVE” on it as formal proof that I have it.

Is it really that important?  Well – yes – actually it is.  The CDC has denied me the right to proper testing and appropriate treatment for 8 years.  And now, I can finally start getting treatment that due to the lateness of it all, may or may not cure me.  My hope is that treatment will get me out of bed more days than not and simply keep the disease from advancing any more.

I know I sound like a bitter woman blaming the government for my poor life.  Don’t get me wrong, I am angry with the CDC – not just for the impact they have had on my life but for the millions of Americans who are sick, for those who have died, at the hands of their careless and cavalier attitude toward a very serious illness.  But I am not bitter – and I am not sorry for the state of my life.

“But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.” Genesis 50:20

Who am I that I should take something that God can use for good and turn my nose up at it.  God allowed this for a purpose…I can either sit around moping and feeling sorry for myself (which believe me, I do some days) or I can wake up every morning and let Him use me for whatever good He chooses.

If you haven’t heard of Nick Vujacic, I hope you’ll take 5 minutes to watch the video below.  I’m not a big fan of Oprah, but if you don’t walk away after this video feeling empowered, then we have some talking to do.  I pray that your day is blessed beyond measure.

In His Grip

 

One thought on “I have Lyme Disease

Leave a Reply

