A Year of Treatment

Meds1

This is what a years worth of treatment looks like.  More than 50 IV bags, countless pills, powders, and drips.  Is it worth it?  Yes. It most definitely is.

I remember a year ago when I would wake up in the middle of the night screaming from pain that felt like a knife in my head or my feet felt like they were on fire.  It’s been many months since I’ve had that kind of pain.  I haven’t been to the ER in at least 6 months.  I used to have to hold onto walls and counters to get from one room to another so I wouldn’t fall over from dizziness.  All these things are so much minimized and for that I am so grateful.

There are 2 things going on with treatment.  1) We are managing symptoms – addressing pain and fatigue and such.  2) We are killing bugs.  Killing the bugs releases toxins which cause different symptoms – which leads back to #1.

It’s not over yet.  I still have pain which flairs up when I try to be active (just going to the store will bring it on).  The fatigue and lack of stamina are overwhelming – even writing this blog post is exhausting.  And I am certain that if I stopped all treatment, I would quickly revert back to the horrible symptoms that used to be.  But today, we move forward with less pain and more hope.

The key is the word “we”.  I don’t know what I’d do without my supportive family – my husband who administers my IV treatment every day and ensures I eat and take my meds, my children who clean and cook and water the garden, and the love and companionship they each give me during a time that can feel lonely and scary.  I am truly blessed beyond measure.

God is still God.

Good is still good.

To Him be the glory.

One thought on “A Year of Treatment

  1. So glad to hear that you are getting better. Dear Lord please continue to heal this Special Lady in Jesus precious name. Amen Love to you and the family

    Like

Leave a Reply

