Life Is Good

I saw a friend today who is always so perky and happy – you can’t help but smile when she is in the room and I did just that. She asked me how I was doing, but before I could answer, she said something along the lines of, “You look like you’re doing good! Are you better?”

Ugh. I don’t know how to answer that without just sounding like a whiny, pathetic, complainer. Today, I can get out of bed. It took me an hour to just get dressed and brush my hair (instead of 2), so I look kind of ok. My pain level was only at a 5 this morning and I took meds so I’m not crying in pain, in fact, I can smile thru it. And with that, people think I’m better. But I’m not. And I feel like I disappoint people when I tell them I’m still sick.

And while I am indeed still very sick, life is good. My husband and I have an amazing relationship. Our kids are all doing really well and I like the friendship I have with each of them. There are many things in life that are precious and dear to us and for all of those things, we are so grateful. We are happy – and I can’t ask for more than that.

So if I sound negative, please forgive me…because life is indeed good.
And on these things, I dwell.

In His Grip,
Shawn



Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

Philippians 4:8-9

Leave a Reply

