Around Every Corner

The last couple weeks have been good.  I’m no where near 100%… but I’ve been out of bed every day for more hours than not.  We want to hope that I’ve turned the corner and am on a path of healing, but we are keeping an open eye and praying that there is not a corner ahead that turns back to pain and sickness.

I don’t know if that makes any sense.  I am overjoyed that I have been able to function a little each day but I have to admit, I am scared that maybe the bugs are just hiding (they do that you know).

I am currently on 2 IV meds (Rocephen and Azithromycin), which I do 5 nights a week (the 2 meds take about 3 hours – the Zith puts me into a lot of pain and tends to knock me out).  I’m also on oral meds (Mepron – which is an antimalarial but used in combo with Zith, it is a common treatment for Babesia) and several supplements.  It’s a lot, but much less than I had been on before.

Several months ago I began having severe digestive issues.  I would vomit for days and had a very limited diet.  The bacteria and parasites are commonly active in the gut and I guess they decided it was time to wage war there.  I also developed SIBO (small intestine bacteria overgrowth), so we have been treating that as well.  I feel that is under better control and we are attacking the bugs there heavily while rebuilding the health of the gut.  Note:  Don’t worry – I take several strong probiotics and a couple other supplements to help heal the gut and build up the good bacteria!

I don’t know what to expect from tomorrow – but today I am able to manage the pain and have a little energy and gumption – so I’m going to get up and start getting ready for the next few days, which are filled with family and joy, and most importantly, the remembrance of the birth of a Savior.  Indeed it is a good time to rejoice in the blessings of my life – including this awful disease, which has brought the gift of love and family.

 

“But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.”

Genesis 50:20

Joseph was sold into slavery by his brothers, but he knew that it was God that allowed it in order bring about good.  Just as Joseph knew that “God meant it for good”, so I know that God has allowed my illness in order to bring about good – not just for me, but for my family and for others who have been struck with illness.  We see His blessings every day and while I despise this evil disease, I praise God for His grace.

God is still God.
God is still good.
To Him be the glory.

 

Leave a Reply

