Hold Your Peace

And Moses said to the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD, which He will accomplish for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall see again no more forever.

“The LORD will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.”

Exodus 14-13-14 

________________________

Lyme is like a box of chocolates – you never know what you’re gonna get. I woke up this morning with a list of things I want to do. And laying in bed, I felt like I would be able to accomplish half of them. 

My feet hit the floor to the daily pain on my soles. This is not new, but somehow I forget every morning and am surprised when it happens. 

Up and moving around, head and neck pain slowly creep in and various muscles and joints begin to ache and feel weak. I push through it all trying to get a few dishes done until suddenly a wave of pressure overcomes my entire body screaming for me to lay down. 

As I lay here letting the pain subside, I am mentally preparing for the next go around. What do I want to accomplish next? Laundry? More dishes? The floors? Paint the back railing? There’s a young woman with Lyme – I am hoping to visit with her and her family. I also want to get a few more plants for the front of the house, which requires a trip to the nursery, then planting the plants and tapping into the drip line. 

I know these things are not possible – my mind is writing checks my body can’t cash. I know the infections and toxicities that plague my body will be a battle through every step I take today. 

As the Israelites feared they would be overcome by the Egyptians, so I fear that I will be overcome by pain and illness. Yet God says to stand still and see the salvation of the Lord. He will fight for me. And I shall hold my peace.

“…and you shall hold your peace.” This is an action sentence. It means you shall be still, be quiet, be calm, to let it alone. 

Ok then. Today, I am holding my peace and letting the Lord fight for me. 

2 thoughts on “Hold Your Peace

  1. Shawn, I like the woman you have become. May God continue to bring glory to Himself through your life and testimony about Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

