A Christmas State of Mind

Christmas has forever been my favorite time of year. An old poem says “Christmas is not a date on a calendar, but a state of mind”.  

I love the way our home helps to bring that state of mind with warm decor and colorful lights. I love preparing gifts for family and friends. I love listening to Christmas music and watching movies.  I just can’t help but be filled with joy.

At the same time, it can be overwhelming – especially when we lymies feel awful. I tend to get a rush of adrenaline that helps me through a couple of weeks; but I also know that with every up day there will be an equal and opposite down day. 

That looming crash weighs on me and if I think about it too long, I start to panic. Of course if I don’t think about it, I will over-do and the down days will last longer and be more intense.

Oh what’s a girl to do?!

Perhaps a sign that I am coming to terms with my illness is that I am being more realistic about my limits. Yes limits. I still don’t love that word – but I need it. 

I know that I can’t do everything I want to do – so I can either let my illness define my limits, or I can create that definition myself.

For me, that includes 2 IV treatments a day, 3 hours of oxygen therapy, detox saunas and baths, and lots of rest. I also need to somehow account for the down time that I can’t schedule…the times when getting out of bed (or staying out) is impossible. 

This is all normal to everyday life, but during the Christmas season, it can be extra challenging to maintain the Christmas cheer when I am limited by disease.

So this year, I am acknowledging the fact that I can’t do everything and I am focusing on the important things: Jesus, family, joy.  When I step back and look at my Christmas world, that’s all that matters. 

Whether you are battling a severe illness or not, I want to encourage you to set limits in your world too – and simply enjoy the beauty of this time of year.

Merry Christmas 

One thought on “A Christmas State of Mind

Leave a Reply

