Anniversaries

Every year, certain dates stand out as being particularly special, my kids birthdays, our anniversary, the day my husband asked me to marry him, Christmas – all special days that bring happy memories to the forefront of my mind. 

July 10, while not necessarily a happy day, was a pivotal day in my history.  I guess I consider it the day the dam broke.  It’s the day I went to the ER in severe pain – a day from which I have never recovered.

It’s funny – it’s not the day I first got sick – that was 7 years before hand. But for the last 4 years, July 10 has held a special place in my heart.

I don’t know why that is. Perhaps it’s the amazing people who showed up in force to help me. The couple who took me to the ER in the middle of the night. My husband who came home early from a family reunion. Our kids who went to pick him up and who took care of me in the coming days and years. People who stopped their world for me. People to whom I am forever grateful and who I am so blessed to have in my life. 

Perhaps it’s the sadness I feel watching the years disappear as I struggle to get a little bit better Day by day.  

Perhaps it’s the love I’ve felt from my family who have been by side through these hard times.

Perhaps it’s the joy of knowing God has a purpose in everything He allows, and the events of July 10, 2013 are no different.

If you’ve taken a moment to read this, I hope you’ll take a moment to thank God on my behalf for all He is and all He does. 

God is still God.
God is still good.
To Him be the glory.

Leave a Reply

